What Is IQM Accreditation And What Does It Signify?

Posted on: June 26, 2019

Student Reading

IQM accreditation is the inclusion of certain schools to a framework that is widely recognised. This is done with the aim of furthering their performance and ensuring their constant growth. The major pioneers of IQM believe that an effective institution must be an all-inclusive school. By receiving the Inclusion Quality Mark award, the school proves that it has achieved all the requirements needed to be deemed as all inclusive.

According to research, since the introduction of IQM accreditation, more than 5000 schools have received or are in the process of receiving the IQM award. The schools are not randomly selected but rather intensively analysed to ensure that they conform to the IQM requirements before being included in the accreditation program. Every single detail about the school is carefully scrutinised. It should also be noted that IQM inclusion does not just base their findings on the school’s general performance but rather on different aspects. That is why it is often a great idea for a school to be included in the list of IQM inclusive schools.

Principles of Inclusion Quality

Just like anybody, IQM has specific principles that govern it. These principles are key pillars in ensuring that every single individual in the institution is treated fairly and equally. This is regardless of their gender, race, social status or financial background. The four main principles of IQM entail:

  • Raising achievement for everyone in an institution.
  • Coming up with a suitable environment for everyone to succeed.
  • Advancing the inclusive nature of every school.
  • Promoting complete access and diversity in schools.

All the objectives of IQM lie on these four main principles. They are the same principles the IQM team uses to shape the schools in order to make them all-inclusive and ensure their upward progression. For years, these principles have been able to guide the IQM body as a whole in ensuring their requirements are swiftly met by all-inclusive schools with the aim of boosting their current status and becoming a much better school for all.

The Main IQM Awards and Their Function in Ensuring Success for All-inclusive Schools

As mentioned above, Inclusion Quality has awards to show that a certain education institution conforms to their standards. The three awards that exist include:

1. The IQM Inclusive School

This award is only given after a school has initialised the numerous measures in ensuring that every child is provided with the best education regardless of their differences. With the award, IQM ensures that success is attained by any child in the institution.

2. The IQM Center of Excellence

The centre of excellence award is given to a school that is working closely with IQM individuals they are adhering to the inclusion quality best practice. The award enables the school to improve their performance and reach the pre-set targets. At the end of the day, all that is achieved is success among all students.

3. The IQM flagship school award

Any school that has the IQM flagship award means that it has been practising the IQM standards for at least three years. They also must have been role models to other all-inclusive Schools and are actively ensuring that every student excels in the institution. This award is considered to be very prestigious. It can only be earned by a school that has been putting the IQM principles to practice as a way of ensuring every single student get the required education to achieve excellence.

According to the information above, IQM’s objective indeed is to ensure that every school provides the available children with a platform to excel. This is regardless of their differences. The inclusion quality ensures that a school advances further in every sector and that every child’s needs are well taken care of. All this is to ensure absolute success of the child.